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Amendments to the Reinventing Medicaid Article — May 22, 2015
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Reference prior ted by:
version
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meet Social Security
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requirements for state
SSI-only supplement —
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§40-6-27(4) Reference correction 22 EOHHS
§40-6-27(5) Reference correction 24-26 EOHHS
§40-6-27(7) Reference correction 19 EOHHS
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§40-6-27.2 Clarification of original | 21-24 Legislative Staff
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Section 6 §40-8-15(2) Technical correction— 14 Legislative Staff
missing underline
§40-8-15(c) New language relating to | 24-26 EOHHS
interest charges omitted '
§40-8-15 new New language relating to | 8-26, 1-26, | EOHHS
subsection (i) transfers of assets omitted | 1-4
§40-8-15.1(a) Technical correction - 5 EOHHS
Add subsection (a)
designation
§40-8-15.1(a)(2) | Clarification - Definition | 17 EOHHS
of “hearing” added
§40-8-15.1(a)(3) | Clarification - Definition |5 EOHHS
of “hearing” added
§40-8-15.1 Technical correction — 25 EOHHS
(4)/(e) change number “4” to
letter “e” to align with
subsection designations
Section 7 §40-8-19(b)(2) Clarification necessary to | 10-12 EOHHS
explain impact -- no
substantive change
Section 8 §40-8.2-2(8) Technical correction 1 Legislative Staff
Section 11 §40-8.9-9(H)(2) Addition of reference 21-23 SSA/EOHHS
necessary to meet SSA
requirements — no
substantive change
§40-8.9-9(3)(1) Reference correction 26 EOHHS
Section 13 §40-8.13-2(b) Reference correction 24 Legislative Staff
Section 14 Delete Sec14 and Agency withdraws BHDDH/EOHHS

renumber Sec14-20 language
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: version
Section 15 §42-7.2-5(6)(ii) | Technical correction 1 Legislative Staff
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former section 14 re DD
payment methodology —
re-letter (q) and (r)
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ARTICLE (Revised 5-22-2015)
The Reinventing Medicaid Act of 2015

Preamble: The following Act shall be known as “The Reinventing Medicaid Act of 2015”, which
achieves significant Medicaid savings while improving quality, controlling costs and putting Rhode
Island on a path toward closing a $190 million structural deficit.

The Rhode Island Medicaid program is an integral component of the State’s health care system.
Medicaid provideé services and supports to as many as one out of four Rhode Islanders, including low-
income children and families, developmentally-disabled residents, elders and individuals with severe and
persistent mental illness.

According to analysis by the Rhode Island House Finance Committee, Rhode Island currently
spends more than 30 cents of every state revenue dollar on Medicaid, much of it on fee-for-service
payments to hospitals and nursing homes. As the program’s reach expands, the costs of Medicaid have
continued to rise, the delivery of care has become more fragmented and uncoordinated and funding for
Medicaid has crowded out investments for important economic development priorities like education,
skills training and infrastructure.

Given the crucial role of the Medicaid program to the state, it is of compelling importance that the
state conduct a fundamental restructuring of its Medicaid program that achieves measurable improvement
in health outcomes for the people of Rhode Island and transforms the health care system to one that pays
for outcomes and quality at a sustainable, predictable and affordable cost for Rhode Island taxpayers and
employers.

Rhode Island cannot build a foundation for economic growth unless the state addresses its
structural deficit. Nor can it tackle the structural deficit without reforming Medicaid. Rhode Island needs
a strong Medicaid system that functions as a safety net for the most vulnerable Rhode Islanders, but it
also needs a sustainable model that works for patients, providers, and taxpayers.

The Reinventing Medicaid Act of 2015 makes a number of statutory changes to the state

Medicaid program, including the creation of incentive models that reward better hospitals and nursing
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homes for better quality and better coordination, a pilot coordinated care program that establishes person-
centered care and payment methods, targeted community-based programs for individuals who need
intensive services and managed care for Rhode Islanders with severe and persistent mental illness.

This Act shall be known as the “Reinventing Medicaid Act of 2015.”

SECTION 1. Section 23-17-38.1 of the General Laws in Chapter 23-17 entitled “Licensing of

Health Care Facilities” is hereby amended to read as follows:

§ 23-17-38.1 Hospitals — Licensing fee. — {a)There-is-imposed-a-hespital- licensingfee-at-therate

) (a) There is alse imposed a'hospital licensing fee at the rate of five and seven hundred three

thousandths percent (5.703%) upon the net patient services revenue of every hospital for the hospital's
first fiscal year ending on or after January 1, 2013, except that the license fee for all hospitals located in

Washington County, Rhode Island shall be discounted by thirty-seven percent (37%). The discount for
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Washington County hospitals is subject to approval by the Secretary of the US Department of Health and
Human Services of a state plan amendment submitted by the executive office of health and human
services for the pui’pose of pursuing a waiver of the uniformity requirement for the hospital license fee.
This licensing fee shall be administered and collected by the tax administrator, division of taxation within
the department of revenue, and all the administration, collection and other provisions of chapter 51 of title
44 shall apply. Every hospital shall pay the licensing fee to the tax administrator on or before July 13,
2015 and payments shall be made by electronic transfer of monies to the general treasurer and deposited
to the general fund. Every hospital shall, on or before June 15, 2015, make a return to the tax
administrator containing the correct computation of net patient services revenue for the hospital fiscal
year ending September 30, 2013, and the licensing fee due upon that amount. All returns shall be signed
by the hospital's authorized representative, subject to the pains and penalties of perjury.

(b) There is also imposed a hospital licensing fee at the rate of five and eight hundred forty-six

thousandths percent (5.846%) upon the net patient services revenue of every hospital for the hospital's

first fiscal vear ending on or after January 1. 2014, except that the license fee for all hospitals located in

Washington County, Rhode Island shall be discounted by thirty-seven percent (37%). The discount for
Washington County hospitals is subject to approval by the Secretary of the US Department of Health and

Human Services of a state plan amendment submitted by the executive office of health and human

services for the purpose of pursuing a waiver of the uniformity requirement for the hospital license fee.

This licensing fee shall be administered and collected by the tax administrator, division of taxation within
the department of revenue, and all the administration, collection and other provisions of chapter 51 of title

44 shall apply. Every hospital shall pay the licensing fee to the tax administrator on or before July 11,

2016 and payments shall be made by electronic transfer of monies to the general treasurer and deposited

to the general fund. Every hospital shall, on or before June 13, 2016, make a return to the tax

administrator containing the correct computation of net patient services revenue for the hospital fiscal

year ending September 30, 2014, and the licensing fee due upon that amount. All returns shall be signed

by the hospital's authorized representative, subject to the pains and penalties of perjury.
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(c) For purposes of this section the following words and phrases have the following meanings:

(1) "Hospital" means a

inventory—are—psyehiatrie. the actual facilities and buildings in existence in Rhode Island, licensed

pursuant to § 23-17-1 et seq. on June 30, 2010, and thereafter any premises included on that license,

regardless of changes in licensure status pursuant to § 23-17.14 (hospital conversions) and §23-17-6 (b)

(change in effective control), that provides short-term acute inpatient and/or outpatient care to persons

who require definitive diagnosis and treatment for injury, illness, disabilities, or pregnancy.

(2) "Gross patient services revenue" means the gross revenue related to patient care services.

(3) "Net patient services revenue" means the charges related to patient care services less (i)
charges attributable to charity care; (ii) bad debt expenses; and (iii) contractual allowances.

(d) The tax administrator shall make and promulgate any rules, regulations, and procedures not
inconsistent with state law and fiscal procedures that he or she deems necessary for the proper
administration of this section and to carry out the provisions, policy, and purposes of this section.

(e) The licensing fee imposed by this section shall apply to hospitals as defined herein that are
duly licensed on July 1, 2644 2015, and shall be in addition to the inspection fee imposed by § 23-17-38
and to any licensing fees previously imposed in accordance with § 23-17-38.1.

SECTION 2. Section 27-18-64 of the General Laws in Chapter 27-18 entitled “Accident and
Sickness Insurance Policies™ is hereby amended to read as follows:

§27-18-64 Coverage for early intervention services. — (a) Every individual or group hospital or

medical expense insurance policy or contract providing coverage for dependent children, delivered or
renewed in this state on or after July 1, 2004, shall include coverage of early intervention services which

coverage shall take effect no later than January 1, 2005. Such coverage shall-be-limited-to-a-benefitoffive

shall not be subject to
deductibles and coinsurance factors. Any amount paid by an insurer under this section for a dependent

child shall not be applied to any annual or lifetime maximum benefit contained in the policy or contract.
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For the purpose of this section, "early intervention services" means, but is not limited to, speech and
language therapy, occupational therapy, physical therapy, evaluation, case management, nutrition, service
plan development and review, nursing services, and assistive technology services and devices for

dependents from birth to age three (3) who are certified by the department-of-human-services executive

office of health and human services as eligible for services under part C of the Individuals with

Disabilities Education Act (20 U.S.C. § 1471 et seq.).

(b) Subjectto-the-annual linits provided-in-this-sectieninsurers Insurers shall reimburse certified

early intervention providers, who are designated as such by the Department-of- Human-Services executive

office, for early intervention services as defined in this section at-rates-efreimbursement-equalto—or

(¢) This section shall not apply to insurance coverage providing benefits for: (1) hospital
confinement indemnity; (2) disability income; (3) accident only; (4) long-term care; (5) Medicare
supplement; (6) limited benefit health; (7) specified disease indemnity; (8) sickness or bodily injury or
death by accident or both; and (9) other limited benefit policies.

SECTION 3. Section 27-20.11-3 of the General Laws in Chapter. 27-20.11 entitled “Autism
Spectrum Disorders” is hereby amended to read as follows:

§ 27-20.11-3 Scope of coverage. — (a) Benefits under this section shall include coverage for

pharmaceuticals, applied behavior analysis; physical therapy, speech therapy, psychology, psychiatric and
occupational therapy services for the treatment of Autism spectrum disorders, as defined in the most
recent edition of the DSM. Provided, however:

(1) Coverage for physical therapy, speech therapy and occupational therapy and psychology,
psychiatry and pharmaceutical services shall be, to the extent such services are a covered benefit for other
diseases and conditions under such policy ; and

(2) Applied behavior analysis, -

person-per-year.
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(b) Benefits under this section shall continue until the covered individual reaches age fifteen (15).

(c) The health care benefits outlined in this chapter apply only to services delivered within the
State of Rhode Island; provided, that all health insurance carriers shall be required to provide coverage for
those benefits mandated by this chapter outside of the State of Rhode Island where it can be established
through a pre-authorization process that the required services are not available in the State of Rhode
Island from a provider in the health insurance carrier's network.

SECTION 4. Sections 40-6-27 and 40-6-27.2 of the General Laws in Chapter 40-6 entitled
General Public Assistance are hereby amended to read as follows: |

§40-6-27 Supplemental security income. — (a)(1) The director of the department is hereby

authorized to enter into agreements on behalf of the state with the secretary of the U.S. Department of
Health and Human Services or other appropriate federal officials, under the supplementary and security
income (SSI) program established by title XVI of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1381 et seq.,
concerning the administration and determination of eligibility for SSI benefits for residents of this state,
except as otherwise provided in this section. The state's monthly share of supplementary assistance to the
supplementary security income progrém shall be as follows:

(i) Individual living alone: $39.92

(ii) Individual living with others: $51.92

(iii) Couple living alone: $79.38

@iv) Couple livillg with others: $97.30

(v) Individual living in state licensed assisted living residence: $332.00 /

(vi) Individual eligible to receive Medicaid-funded long-term services and supports and living in

a Medicaid certified state licensed assisted living residence or adult supportive heusing care residence, as

defined in §23-17.24, participating in the program authorized under § 40-8.13-2.1:

(b) with countable income at or below one hundred and twenty (120) percent of poverty: up to the total

amount established in (v) and $465: $797
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@) (vii) Individual living in state licensed supportive residential care settings that, depending on
the population served, meet the standards set by the department of human services in conjunction with the
department(s) of children, youth and families, elderly affairs and/or behavioral healthcare, developmental
disabilities and hospitals: $300.00.

Provided, however, that the department of human services shall by regulation reduce, effective
January 1, 2009, the state’s monthly share of supplementary assistance to the supplementary security
income program for each of the above listed payment levels, by the same value as the annual federal cost
of living adjustment to be published by the federal social security administration in October 2008 and
becoming effective on January 1, 2009, as determined under the provisions of title XVI of the federal
social security act [42 U.S.C. § 1381 et seq.]; and provided further, that it is the intent of the general
assembly that the January 1, 2009 reduction in the state's monthly share shall not cause a reduction in the
combined federal and state payment level for each category of recipients in effect in the month of
December 2008; provided further, that the department of human services is authorized and directed to
provide for payments to recipients in accordance with the above directives.

(2) As of July 1, 2010, state supplement payments shall not be federally administered and shall be
paid directly by the department of human services to the recipient.

(3) Individuals living in institutions shall receive a twenty dollar ($20.00) per month personal
needs allowance from the state which shall be in addition to the personal needs allowance allowed by the
Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 301 et seq.

(4) Individuals living in state licensed supportive residential care settings and assisted living

residences who are receiving SSI supplemental payments under this section who are participating in the

program under §40-8.13-2-1 or otherwise shall be allowed to retain a minimum personal needs allowance

of fifty-five dollars ($55.00) per month from their SSI monthly benefit prior to payment of any monthly

fees in addition to any amounts established in an administrative rule promulgated by the secretary of the

executive office of health and human services for persons eligible to receive Medicaid-funded long-term

services and supports in the settings identified in subsection (a)(1)(v) and (a)(1)(vi).




10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26

(5) Except as authorized for the program authorized under §40-8.13-2.4+. Fo to ensure that

supportive residential care or an assisted living residence is a sgfe and appropriate service setting, the
department is authorized and directed to make a determination of the medical need and whether a setting
provides the appropriate services for those persons who:

(i) Have applied for or are receiving SSI, and who apply for admission to supportive residential
care setting and assisted living residences on or after October 1, 1998; or

(i) Who are residing in supportive residential care settings and assisted living residences, and
who apply for or begin to receive SSI on or after October 1, 1998.

(6) The process for determining medical need required by subsection (4) (5) of this section shall
be developed by the office of health and human services in collaboration with the departments of that
office and shall be implemented in a manner that furthers the goals of establishing a statewide coordinated

long-term care entry system as required pursuant to the Global-Consumer—Choice—Compact—Waiver

Medicaid section 1115 waiver demonstration.

(7) To assure access to high quality coordinated services, the department executive office of

health and human services is further authorized and directed to establish rules-speeifyingthe-payment

certification or contract standards that must be met by those state licensed supportive residential care

settings, including adult supportive care homes and assisted living residences admitting or serving any

persons eligible for state-funded supplementary assistance under this section or the program established

under §40-8.13-2:1. Such paysment certification_or contract standards shall define:

(i) The scope and frequency of resident assessments, the devélopment and implementation of
individualized service plans, staffing levels and qualifications, resident monitoring, service coordination,
safety risk management and disclosure, and any other related areas;

(ii) The procedures for determining whether the payment certifications or contract standards have
been met; and |

(iii) The criteria and process for granting a one time, short-term good cause exemption from the

payment certification or contract standards to a licensed supportive residential care setting or assisted
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living residence that provides documented evidence indicating that meeting or failing to meet said
standards poses an undue hardship on any person eligible under this section who is a prospective or
current resident.

(8) The paymest certification or contract standards required by this section or §40-8. 13-24— shall
be developed in collaboration by the departments, under the direction of the executive office of health and
human services, so as to ensure that they comply with applicable licensure regulations either in effect or
in development. |

(b) The department is authorized and directed to provide additional assistance to individuals
eligible for SSI benefits for:

(1) Moving costs or other expenses as a result of an emergency of a catastrophic nature which is
defined as a fire or natural disaster; and

(2) Lost or stolen SSI benefit checks or proceeds of them; and

(3) Assistance payments to SSI eligible individuals in need because of the application of federal
SSI regulations regarding estranged spouses; and the department shall provide such assistance in a form

and an amount in which the department shall by regulation determine.

§40-6-27.2 Supplementary cash assistance payment for certain supplemental security

income recipients. — There is hereby established a $206 monthly payment for disabled and elderly

individuals who, on or after July 1, 2012, receive the state supplementary assistance payment for an
individual in state licensed assisted living residence under § 40-6-27 and further reside in an assisted
living facility that is not eligible to receive funding under Title XIX of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C.

§ 1381 et seq-including 4 or reside in any assisted

living facility financed by the Rhode Island housing and mortgage finance corporation prior to January 1,

2006, and receive a payment under § 40-6-27. Such a monthly payment shall not be made on behalf of

persons participating in the program authorized under §40-8.13-2.
SECTION 5. Section 40-8-13.4 of the General Laws in Chapter 40-8 entitled “Medical

Assistance” is hereby amended to read as follows:
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§ 40-8-13.4 Rate methodology for payment for in state and out of state hospital services. —(a)

The executive office of health and human services shall implement a new methodology for payment for in
state and out of state hospital services in order to ensure access to and the provision of high quality and
cost-effective hospital care to its eligible recipients.

(b) In order to improve efficiency and cost effectiveness, the executive office of health and
human services shall:

(1)(A) With respect to inpatient services for persons in fee for service Medicaid, which is non-
managed care, implement a new payment methodology for inpatient services utilizing the Diagnosis
Related Groups (DRG) method of payment, which is, a patient classification method which provides a
means of relating payment to the hospitals to the type of patients cared for by the hospitals. It is
understood that a payment method based on Diagnosis Related Groups may include cost outlier payments
and other specific exceptions. The executive office ‘will review the DRG payment method and the DRG
base price annually, making adjustments as appropriate in consideration of such elements as trends in
hospital input costs, patterns in hospital coding, beneficiary access to care, and the Center for Medicare

and Medicaid Services national CMS Prospective Payment System (IPPS) Hospital Input Price index. For

the twelve (12) month period beginning July 1, 2015, the DRG base rate for Medicaid fee-for-service

inpatient hospital services shall not exceed ninety-seven and one-half percent (97.5%) of the pavment

rates in effect as of July 1, 2014.

(B) With respect to inpatient services, (i) it is required as of January 1, 2011 until December 31,
2011, that the Medicaid managed care payment rates between each hospital and health plan shall not
exceed ninety and one tenth percent (90.1%) of the rate in effect as of June 30, 2010. Negotiated increases
in inpatient hospital payments for each annual twelve (12) month period beginning January 1, 2012 may
not exceed the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services national CMS Prospective Payment System
(IPPS) Hospital Input Price index for the applicable period; (ii) provided, however, for the twenty-four
(24) month period beginning July 1, 2013 the Medicaid managed care payment rates between each

hospital and health plan shall not exceed the payment rates in effect as of January 1, 2013 and for the



10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26

twelve (12) month period beginning July 1, 2015, the Medicaid managed care payment inpatient rates

between each hospital and health plan shall not exceed ninety-seven and one-half percent (97.5%) of the

payment rates in effect as of January 1. 2013; (iii) negotiated increases in inpatient hospital payments for

each annual twelve (12) month period beginning July 1, 2645-2016 may not exceed the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services national CMS Prospective Payment System (IPPS) Hospital Input Price
Index, less Productivity Adjustment, for the applicable period; (iv) The Rhode Island executive office of
health and human services will develop an audit methodology and process to assure that savings
associated with the payment reductions will accrue directly to the Rhode Island Medicaid program
through reduced managed care plan payments and shall not be retained by the managed care plans; (v) All
hospitals licensed in Rhode Island shall accept such payment rates as payment in full; and (vi) for all such
hospitals, compliance with the provisions of this section shall be a condition of participation in the Rhode
Island Medicaid program.

(2) With respect to outpatient services and notwithstanding any provisions of the law to the
contrary, for persons enrolled in fee for service Medicaid, the executive office will reimburse hospitals for
outpatient services using a rate methodology determined by the executive office and in accordance with
federal regulations. Fee-for-service outpatient rates shall align with Medicare payments for similar
services. Notwithstanding the above, there shall be no increase in the Medicaid fee-for-service outpatient
rates effective on July 1, 2013 er, July 1, 2014, or July 1, 2015. For _the twelve (12) month period

beginning July 1, 2015, Medicaid fee-for-service outpatient rates shall not exceed ninety-seven and one-

half perceﬁt (97.5%) of the rates in effect as of July 1, 2014. Thereafter, changes to outpatient rates will

be implemented on July 1 each year and shall align with Medicare payments for similar services from the
prior federal fiscal year. With respect to the outpatient rate, (i) it is required as of January 1, 2011 until
December 31, 2011, that the Medicaid managed care payment rates between each hospital and health plan
shall not exceed one hundred percent (100%) of the rate in effect as of June 30, 2010. Negotiated
increases in hospital outpatient payments for each annual twelve (12) month period beginning January 1,

2012 may not exceed the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services national CMS Outpatient
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Prospective Payment System (OPPS) hospital price index for the applicable period; (ii) provided,
however, for rthe twenty-four (24) month period beginning July 1, 2013 the Medicaid managed care
outpatient payment rates between each hospital and health plan shall not exceed the payment rates in

effect as of January 1, 2013 and for the twelve (12) month period beginning July 1, 2015, the Medicaid

managed care outpatient payment rates between each hospital and health plan shall not exceed ninety-

seven and one-half percent (97.5%) of the payment rates in effect as of January 1, 2013; (iii) negotiated

increases in outpatient hospital payments for each annual twelve (12) month period beginning July 1,
2045 2016 may not exceed the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services national CMS Outpatient
Prospective Payment System (OPPS) Hospital Input Price Index, less Productivity Adjustment, for the

applicable period.

(3) “Hospital” as used in this section shall mean the actual facilities and buildings in existence in

Rhode Island, licensed pursuant to § 23-17-1 etseq. on June 30. 2010. and thereafter any premises

included on that license, regardless of changes in licensure status pursuant to § 23-17.14 (hospital

conversions) and §23-17-6 (b) (change in effective control), that provides short-term acute inpatient

and/or outpatient care to persons who require definitive diagnosis and treatment for injury, illness,

disabilities, or pregnancy.

(c) It is intended that payment utilizing the Diagnosis Related Groups method shall reward
hospitals for providing the most efficient care, and provide the executive office the opportunity to.conduct
value based purchasing of inpatient care.

(d) The secretary of the executive office of health and human services is hereby authorized to
promulgate such rules and regulations consistent with this chapter, and to establish fiscal procedures he or

she deems necessary for the proper implementation and administration of this chapter in order to provide

payment to hospitals using the Diagnosis Related Group payment methodology. Furthermore, amendment

of the Rhode Island state plan for medical assistance (Medicaid) pursuant to Title XIX of the federal
Socijal Security Act is hereby authorized to provide for payment to hospitals for services provided to

eligible recipients in accordance with this chapter.
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(¢) The executive office shall comply with all public notice requirements necessary to implement
these rate changes.

(f) As a condition of participation in the DRG methodology for payment of hospital services,
every hospital shall submit year-end settlement reports to the executive office within one year from the
close of a hospital's fiscal year. Should a participating hospital fail to timely submit a year-end settlement
report as required by this section, the executive office shall withhold financial cycle payments due by any
state .agency with respect to this hospital by not more than ten percent (10%) until said report is
submitted. For hospital fiscal year 2010 and all subsequent fiscal years, hospitals will not be required to
submit year-end settlement reports on payments for outpatient services. For hospital fiscal year 2011 and
all subsequent fiscal years, hospitals will not be required to submit year-end settlement reports on claims
for hospital inpatient services. Further, for hospital fiscal year 2010, hospital inpatient claims subject to
settlement shall include only those claims received between October 1, 2009 and June 30, 2010.

(g) The provisions of this section shall be effective upon implementation of the amendments and
new payment methodology pursuant to this section and § 40-8-13.3, which shall in any event be no later
than March 30, 2010, at which time the provisions of §§ 40-8-13.2, 27-19-14, 27-19-15, and 27-19-16
shall be repealed in their entirety.

§40-8-13.5. Hospital Incentive Program (HIP). The secretary of the executive office of health

and human services is authorized to seek the federal authorities required to implement a hospital incentive

program (HIP). The HIP shall provide the participating licensed hospitals the ability to obtain certain

payments for achieving performance goals established by the secretary. HIP payments shall commence no

carlier than July 1, 2016.

SECTION 6. Section 40-8-15 of the General Laws in Chapter 40-8 entitled “Medical

Assistance” is hereby amended to read as follows:

§ 40-8-15. Lien on deceased recipient's estate for assistance. (a)(1) Upon the death of a

recipient of medical assistance under Title XIX of the federal Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1396 et

seq., the total sum of medical assistance so paid on behalf of a recipient who was fifty-five (55) years of
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age or older at the time of receipt of the assistance shall be and constitute a lien upon the estate, as defined
in subdivision (a)(2) below, of the recipient in favor of the executive office of health and human services.
The lien shall not be effective and shall not attach as against the estate of a recipient who is survived by a
spouse, or a child who is under the age of twenty-one (21), or a child who is blind or permanently and
totally disabled as defined in Title XVI of the federal Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1381 et seq. The
lien shall attach against property of a recipient, whether or not such property is included or includible in
the decedent's probate estate, regardless of whether or not a probate proceeding has been commenced in
the probate court by the executive office of health and human services or by any other party. Provided,
however, that such lien shall only attach and shall only be effective against the recipient's real property,
whether or not included or includible in the recipient's probate estate, if such lien is recorded in the land
evidence records and is in accordance with subsection 40-8-15(e). Decedénts who have received medical
assistance are subject to the assignment and subrogation provisions of §§ 40-6-9 and 40-6-10.

(2) For purposes of this section, the term “estate” with respect to a deceased individual shall
include all real and personal property and other assets whether or not included or includable within the
individual's probate estate.

(b) The executive office of health and human services is authorized to promulgate regulations to
implement the terms, intent, and purpose of this section and to require the legal representative(s) and/or
the heirs-at-law of the decedent to provide reasonable written notice to the executive office of health and
human services of the death éf a recipient of medicall assistance who was fifty-five (55) years of age or
older at the date of death, and to provide a statement identifying the decedent's property and the names
and addresses of all persons entitled to take any share or interest of the estate as legatees or distributes
thereof.

(c) The amount of medical assistance reimbursement imposed under this section shall also

become a debt to the state from the person or entity liable for the payment thereof.



10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
2
24
25

26

(d) Upon payment. of the amount of reimbursement for medical assistance imposed by this
section, the secretary of the executive office of health énd human services, or his or her designee, shall
issue a written discharge of lien.

(e) Provided, however, that no lien created under this section shall attach nor become effective
upon any real property unless and until a statement of claim is recorded naming the debtor/owner of
record of the property as of the date and time of recording of the statement of claim, and describing the
real property by a description containing all of the following: (1) tax assessor's plat and lot; and (2) street
address. The statement of claim shall be recorded in the records of land evidence in the town or city
where the real property is situated. Notice of said lien shall be sent to the duly appointed executor or
administrator, the decedent's legal representative, if known, or to the decedent's next of kin or heirs at law
as stated in the decedent's last application for medical assistance.

(f) The executive office of health and human services shall establish procedures, in accordance
with the standards specified by the secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, under
which the executive office of health and human services shall waive, in whole or in part, the lien and
reimbursement established by this section if such lien and reimbursement would work an undue hardship,
as determined by the executive office of health and human services, on the basis of the criteria established
by the secretary in accordance with 42 U.S.C. § 1396p(b)(3).

(g) Upon the filing of a petition for admission to probate of a decedent's will or for administration
of a decedent's estate, when the decedeﬁt was fifty-five (55) years or older at the time of death, a copy of
said petition and a copy of the death certificate shall be sent to the executive office of health and human
services. Within thirty (30) days of a request by the executive office of health and human services, an
executor or administrator shall complete and send to the executive office of health and human services a
form prescribed by that office and shall provide such additional information as the office may require. In
the event a petitioner fails to send a copy of the petition and a copy of the death certificate to the
executive office of health and human services and a decedent has received medical assistance for which

the executive office of health and human services is authorized to recover, no distribution and/or
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payments, including administration fees, shall be disbursed. Any person and /or entity that receive a
distribution of assets from the decedent's estate shall be liable to the executive office of health and human
services to the extent of such distribution.

(h) Compliance with the provisions of this section shall be consistent with the requirements set
forth in § 33-11-5 and the requirements of the affidavit of notice set forth in § 33-11-5.2. Nothing in these
sections shall limit the executive office of health and human services from recovery, to the extent of the
distribution, in accordance with all state and federal laws.

§ 40-8-15.1 Lien on recipient’s property. — (a) In addition to the lien and recovery under the

provisions of section 40-8-15, the executive office of health and human services shall recover long term

care Medicaid paid for services rendered on or after the effective date of this act on behalf of an

individual, as defined herein, from the individual’s estate, as defined in section 40-8-15, or upon the sale

or transfer of the individual’s real property prior to the death of an individual who is a recipient of

medical assistance under Title XIX of the federal Social Security Act, 42 USC § 1396 et seq. The

executive office_of health and human services may impose a lien against the real property of any

individual on account of long term care Medicaid paid on his or her behalf as follows:

(1) Pursuant to the judgment or court order on account of benefits incorrectly paid on behalf of

such individual; or,

(2) Upon the real property of an individual who is an inpatient in a nursing facility, intermediate

care facility for the intellectually disabled, or other licensed health facility, and the executive office of

health and human services determines, after notice and opportunity for a hearing, which complies with the

requirements of the Administrative Procedurés Act, chapter 42-35, that the individual cannot reasonably

be expected to be discharged from the licensed health facility and return home: provided however, that

any such lien shall dissolve should an individual be discharged from the licensed health facility and return

home. No such lien may be imposed on the individual’s home, if one of the following persons is lawfully

residing in the home:

(A) the spouse of such individual,
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(B) such individual’s child who is under age twenty-one (21). or is blind or permanently and

totally disabled as defined in Title XVI of the federal Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1381 et .seq., or

(C) a sibling of such individual who has an equity interest in such home and who was residing in

such individual’s home for a period of at least one year immediately before the date of the individual’s

admission to the licensed health facility.

(3) If the individual as described in (2) above has received a determination notice from the

executive office of health and human services after notice -and an opportunity for a hearing, which

complies with the requirements of the Administrative Procedures Act, chapter 42-35, that the above

conditions have been met, then a lien will be placed against the real property.

(b) Any recovery in the case of a lien on an individual’s property under this section may be made

_only after the death of the individual’s surviving spouse, if any, and only when:

(1) No sibling of the individual who was residing in the individual’s home for a period of at leaét

one year immediately before the date of the individual’s admission to the licensed health facility, and is

lawfully residing in such home and who has resided in such home on a continuous basis since the day of

the individual’s admission to the licensed health facility: and,

(2) No child of the individual who was residing in the individual’s home for a period of at least

two (2) years immediately before the date of the individual’s admission to the licensed health facility, and

who establishes to the satisfaction of the executive office of health and human services that he or she

provided care to such individual which permitted such individual to reside at home rather than in a

licensed health facility, who is lawfully residing in ‘such home, and who has resided in such home on a

continuous basis since the day of the individual’s admission to the licensed health facility.

(c) If the property is sold or transferred after the executive office of health and human services

has placed a lien on the property in accordance with this section, the executive office of health and human

services may recover all payment for services provided on or after the effective date of this act.
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(d) The executive office of health and human services shall not be required to pay a recording fee for

filing any lien, notice of lien, statement of claim, or release or discharge of a lien or encumbrance filed in

accordance with sections 40-8-15 and 40-8-15.1.

(e) The executive office of health and human services shall adopt rules necessary to carry out the

provisions of this section.

SECTION 7. Section 40-8-19 of the General Laws in Chapter 40-8 entitled “Medical Assistance”
is hereby amended to read as follows:

§ 40-8-19 Rates of payment to nursing facilities. — (a) Rate reform. (1) The rates to be paid by

the state to nursing facilities licensed pursuant to chapter 17 of title 23, and certified to participate in the
Title XIX Medicaid program for services rendered té Medicaid-eligible residents, shall be reasonable and
adequate to meet the costs which must be incurred by efficiently and economically operated facilities in
accordance with 42 U.S.C. § 1396a(a)(13). The executive office of health and human services shall
promulgate or modify the principles of reimbursement for nursing facilities in effect as of July 1, 2011 to
be consistent with the provisions of this section and Title XIX, 42 U.S.C. § 1396 et seq., of the Social
Security Act. |

(2) The executive office of health and human services ("Executiv¢ Office") shall review the
current methodology for providing Medicaid payments to nursing facilities, including other long-term
care services providers, and is authorized to modify the principles of reimbursement to replace the current
cost based methodology rates with rates based on a price based methodology to be paid to all fécilities
with recognition of the acuity of patients and the relative Medicaid occupancy, and to include the
following elements to be developed by the executive office:

(i) A direct care rate adjusted for resident acuity;

(ii) An indirect care rate comprised of a base per diem for all facilities;

(iii) A rearray of costs for all facilities every three (3) years beginning October, 2015, which may
or may not result in automatic per diem revisions;

(iv) Application of a fair rental value system;
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(v) Application of a pass-through system; and
(vi) Adjustment of rates by the change in a recognized national nursing home inflation index to be
applied on October 1st of each year, beginning October 1, 2012. This adjustment will not oceur on

October 1, 2013 or October 1, 2015 but will reswsme occur on April 1, 2015. Said inflation index shall be

applied without regard for the transition factor in subsection (b)(2) below.

(b) Transition to full implementation of rate reform. For no less than four (4) years after the initial
applicatic;n of ;he price-based methodology described in subdivision (a)(2) to payment rates, the executive
office of health and human services shall implement a transition plan to moderate the impact of the rate
reform on individual nursing facilities. Said transition shall include the following components:

(1) No nursing facility shall receive reimbursement for direct care costs that is less than the rate
of reimbursement for direct care costs received under the methodology in effect at the time of passage of
this act; and

(2) No facility shall lose or gain more than five ‘dollars ($5.00) in its total per diem rate the first

year of the transition. The An adjustment to the per diem loss or gain may be phased out by twenty-five

percent (25%) each year; except, however, for the year beginning October 1, 2015, there shall be no

adjustment to the per diem gain or loss, 6, but it may-resume the phase out

shall resume thereafter; and

(3) The transition plan and/or period may be modified upon full implementation of facility per
diem rate increases for quality of care related measures. Said modifications shall be submitted in a report
to the general assembly at least six (6) months prior to implementation.

(4) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, for the twelve (12) month period beginning July 1,

2015, Medicaid payment rates for nursing facilities established pursuant to this section shall not exceed

ninety-seven and one-half percent (97.5%) of the rates in effect on April 1, 2015,

§40-8-19.2 Nursing Facility Incentive Program (NFIP). The secretary of the executive office

of health and human services is authorized to seek the federal authority required to implement a nursing

facility incentive program (NFIP). The NFIP shall provide the participating licensed nursing facilities the
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ability to obtain certain payments for achieving performance goals established by the secretary. NFIP

payments shall commence no earlier than July 1, 2016.

SECTION 8. Sections 40-8.2-2 to 40-8.2-4, 40-8.2-10 to 40-8.2-12, and 40-8.2-14 to 40-8.2-22
of the General Laws in Chapter 40-8.2 entitled “Medical Assistance Fraud  are hereby amended to read

as follows:

§ 40-8.2-1. Short title.- This chapter shall be known as the "Rhode Island Medical Assistance

Fraud Law".

§ 40-8.2-2. Definitions.- Whenever used in this chapter:

(1) "Benefit" means pecuniary benefit as defined herein.

(2) "Claim" means any request for payment, electronic or otherwise, and shall also include any
data commonly known as encounter data, which is used or is to be used for the development of a
capitation fee payable to a provider of managed health care goods, merchandise or services.

(3) Pepn “Executive Office”

means the executive office of health and human services, the agency designated by state law and the

Medicaid state plan as the Medicaid single state agency.

(4) "Fee schedule" means a list of goods or services to be recognized as properly compensable
under the Rhode Island Medicaid program and applicable rates of reimbursement.

(5) "Kickback" means a return in any form by any individual of a part of an expenditure made by
a provider:

(i) To the same provider;

(if) To an entity controlled by the provider; or

(iii) To an entity, which the provider intends to benefit whenever the expenditure is reimbursed,
or reimbursable, or claimed by a provider as being reimbursable by the Rhode Island Medicaid program

and when the sum or value returned is not credited to the benefit of the Rhode Island Medicaid program.
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(6) "Medicaid fraud control unit" means a duly certified Medicaid fraud control unit under
federal regulation authorized to perform those functions as described by § 1903(q) of the Social Security
Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1396b(q).

(7) "Medically unnecessary services or merchandise" means services or merchandise provided to
recipients intentionally without any expectation that the services or merchandise will alleviate or aid the
recipient’s medical condition.

(8) “Office of Program Integrity or OPI” means the it division within the executive office of

health and human services authorized pursuant to §42-7.2-18 to coordinate state .and local agencies, law

enforcement entities, and investigative units in order to increase the effectiveness of programs and

initiatives dealing with the prevention, detection, and prosecution of Medicaid and public assistance

fraud; to develop cooperative strategies to investigate and eliminate Medicaid and public assistance fraud

and to recover state and federal funds; and to represent the executive office and act on the secretary’s

behalf in any matters related to the prevention, detection , and prosecution of Medicaid fraud under this

chapter.

€8) (9) "Pecuniary benefit" means benefit in the form of money, property, commercial interests,
or anything else the primary significance of which is economic gain.

&) (10) "Person" means any person or individual, natural or otherwise and includes those
person(s) or entities defined by the term "provider".

&6) (11) "Provider" means any individual, individual medical vendor, firm, corporation,
professional association, partnership, organization, or other legal entity that provides goods or services
under the Rhode Island Medicaid program or the empléyee of any person or entity who, on his or her own
behalf or on the behalf of his or her employer, knowingly performs any act or is knowingly responsible
for an omission prohibited by this chapter.

&1 (12) "Recipient" means any person receiving medical assistance under the Rhode Island

Medicaid program.
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€2 (13) "Records" means all documents developed by a provider and related to the provision
of services reimbursed or claimed as reimbursable by the Rhode Island Medicaid program.

€3) (14) "Rhode Island Medicaid program" means a state administered;—medical-assistanee
health care program which is funded by the state and federal governments under Title XIX and Title XXI

of the U.S., Social Security Act; 42-U-S:C—§1396-etseq and any general or public laws and administered

by the executive office of health and human services.

§ 40-8.2-3. Prohibited acts.- (a) It shall be unlawful for any person intentionally to:

(1) Present or cause to be presented for preauthorization or payment to the Rhode Island Medicaid
program:

@) Any materially false or fraudulent claim or cost report for the furnishing of services or
merchandise; or

(ii) Present or cause to be presented for preauthorization or payment, any claim or cost report for
medically unnecessary services or merchandise; or

(iii) To submit or cause to be submitted materially false or fraudulent information, for the
intentional purpose(s) of obtaining greater compensation than that to which the provider is legally entitled
for the furnishing of services or merchandise; or

(iv) Submit or cause to be submitted materially false information for the purpose of obtaining
authorization for furnishing services or merchandise; or

(v) Submit or cause to be submitted any claim or cost report or other document which fails to
make full disclosure of material information.

(2) (i) Solicit, receive, offer, or pay any remuneration, including any kickback, bribe, or rebate,
directly or indirectly, in cash or in kind, to induce referrals from or to any person in return for furnishing
of services or merchandise or in return for referring an individual to a person for the furnishing of any
services or merchandise for which payment may be made, in whole or in part, under the Rhode Island

Medicaid program.
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(ii) Provided, however, that in any prosecution under this subsection, it shall not be necessary for
the state to prove that the remuneration returned was taken from any particular expenditure made by a
person.

(3) Submit or cause to be submitted a duplicate claim for services, supplies, or merchandise to the
Rhode Island Medicaid program for which the provider has already received or claimed reimbursement
from any source, unless the duplicate claim is filed

(i) For payment of more than one type of service or merchandise furnished or rendered to a
recipient for which the use of more than one type of claim is necessary; or

(i) Because of a lack of a response from or a request by the Rhode Island Medicaid program;

provided, however, in such instance a duplicate claim will clearly be identified as such, in writing, by the

provider; or

(iii) Simultaneous with a claim submission to another source of payment when the provider has
knowledge that the other payor will not pay the claim.

(4) Submit or cause to be submitted to the Rhode Island Medicaid program a claim for service or
merchandise which was not rendered to a recipient.

(5) Submit or cause to be submitted to the Rhode Island Medicaid program a claim for services
or merchandise which includes costs or charges not related to the provision or rendering of services or
merchandise to the recipient.

(6) Submit or cause to be submitted a claim or refer a recipient to a person for services or
merchandise under the Rhode Island Medicaid program which are intentionally not documented in the
provider's record and/or are medically unnecessary as that term is defined by § 40-8.2-2(7).

(7) Submit or cause to be submitted to the Rhode Island Medicaid program a claim which
materially misrepresents:

(1) The description of services or merchandise rendered or provided to a recipient;

(ii) The cost of the services or merchandise rendered or provided to a recipient;

(iii) The dates that the services or merchandise were rendered or provided to a recipient;
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(iv) The identity of the recipient(s) of the services or merchandise; or

(v) The identity of the attending, prescribing, or referring practitioner or the identity of the actual
provider.

(8) Submit a claim for reimbursement to the Rhode Island Medicaid program for service(s) or
merchandise at a fee or charge, which exceeds the provider's lowest fee or charge for the provision of the
service or merchandise to the general public.

(9) Submit or cause to be submitted to the Rhode Island Medicaid program a claim for a service
or merchandise which was not rendered by the provider, unless the claim is submitted on behalf of:

(i) A bona fide provider employee of such provider; or

(ii) An affiliated provider entity owned or controlled by the provider; or

(iii) Is submitted on behalf of a provider by a third party billing service under a written
agreement with the provider, and the claims are submitted in a manner which does not otherwise violate
the provisions of this chapter.

(10) Render or provide services or merchandise under the Rhode Island Medicaid program unless
otherwise authorized by the regulations of the Rhode Island Medicaid program without a provider's
written order and the recipient's consent, or submit or cause to be submit_ted a claim for services or
merchandise, except in emergency situations or when the recipient is a minor or is incompetent to give
consent. The type of consent to be required hereunder can include verbal acquiescence of the recipient
and need not require a signed consent form or the recipient's signature, except where otherwise required
by the regulations of the Rhode Island Medicaid program.

(11) Charge any recipient or person acting on behalf of a recipient, money or other consideration
in addition to, or in excess of the rates of remuneration established under the Rhode Island Medicaid
program.

(12) Enter into an agreement, combination or conspiracy with any party other than the Rhode

Island Medicaid program to obtain or aid another to obtain reimbursement or payments from the Rhode
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Island Medicaid program to which the person, recipient, or provider seeking reimbursement or payment is
not entitled.

(13) Make a material false statement in the application for enrollment as a provider under the
Rhode Island Medicaid program.

(14) Refuse to provide representatives of the Medicaid fraud control unit and/or the office of

program integrity upon reasonable request, access to information and data pertaining to services or

merchandise rendered to eligible recipients, and/or former recipients while recipients under the Rhode,
Island Medicaid program.

(15) Obtain any monies by false pretenses through the use of any artifice, scheme, or design
prohibited by this section.

(16) Seek or obtain employment with or as a provider after having actual or constructive
knowledge of a then existing exclusion issued under the authority of 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-7.

(17) Grant or offer to grant employment in violation of a then existing exclusion issued under the
authority of 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-7, having actual or constructive knowledge ot; the existence of such
exclusion.

(18) File a false document to gain employment in a Medicaid funded facility or with a provider.

(b) (1) A provider or person who violates any provision of subsection (a), excepting subsection

(a)(14), (a)(16), or (a)(18), is guilty of a felony for each violation, and upon conviction therefor, shall be

sentenced to a term of imprisonment not exceeding ten (10) years, nor fined more than ten thousand

dollars ($10,000), or both.

(2) A provider or person who violates the provisions of subsection (a)(14), (a)(16), or (a)(18),
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor for each violation and, upon conviction, be ﬂne(i not more than five
hundred dollars ($500).

(3) Any provider who knowingly and willfully participates in any offense either as a principal or
as an accessory, or conspirator shall be subject to the same penalty as if the provider had committed the

substantive offense.
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(c¢) The provisions of subsection (a)(2) shall not apply to:

(1) A discount or other reduction in price obtained by a person or provider of services or
merchandise under the Rhode Island Medicaid program, if the reduction in pricé is properly disclosed and
appropriately reflected in the costs claimed or charges made by the person or provider under the Rhode
Island Medicaid program.

(2) Any amount paid by an employer to an employee, who has a bona fide employment
relationship with the employer, for employment in the provision of covered services or merchandise
furnished under the Rhode Island Medicaid program.

(3) Any amounts paid by a vendor of services‘ or merchandise to a person authorized to act as a
purchasing agent for a group of individuals or entities who are furnishing services or merchandise which
are reimbursed by the Rhode Island Medicaid program, as long as:

(i) The purchasing agent has a written agreement with each individual or entity in the group that
specifies the amount the agent will be paid by each vendor (where the sum may be a fixed sum or a fixed
percentage of the value of the purchases made from the vendor by the group under the contract between
the vendor and the purchasing agent); and

(i) In the case of an entity that is a provider of services to the Rhode Island Medicaid program,
the agent discloses in writing to the individual or entity in accordance with regulations to be promulgated

by the department-executive office, and to the department office of program integrity upon request, the

amount received from each vendor with respect to purchases made by or on behalf of the entity.

§ 40-8.2-4. Statute of limitations.- The statute of limitations for any violation of the provisions

of this chapter shall be ten (10) years.

§ 40-8.2-5. Civil remedy.- Any person, including the RhodeIsland Medicaid-program-secretary

of the executive office of health and human services or the office of program integrity acting on behalf of

the secretary of the office, injured by any violation of the provisions of § 40-8.2-3 or § 40-8.2-4 may

recover through a civil action from the persons inflicting the injury three (3) times the amount of the

injury.
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§ 40-8.2-6. Civil actions brought by attorney general on behalf of persons injured by

| . . .
violations of chapter.- (a) The attorney general may bring a civil action in superior court in the name of

the state, as parens patriae on behalf of persons residing in this state, to secure monetary relief as provided
in this section for injuries sustained by such persons by reason of any violation of this chapter. The court
shall e:xclude from the amount of monetary relief awarded in an action any amount of monetary relief:
Which duplicates amounts which have been awarded for the same injury, or

Which is properly allocable to persons who have excluded their claims pursuant to subsection (c)(1) of
this section.

(b) The court shall award the state as monetary relief threefold the total damage sustained as
described in subsection (a) of this section and the costs of bringing suit, including reasonable attorney's
fees.

(c) In any action brought under subsection (a) of this section, the attorney general shall, at such
times, in such manner, and with such content as the court may direct, cause notice thereof to be given by
publication.

(1) Any person on whose behalf an action is brought under subsection (a), may elect to exclude
from adjudication the portion of the state claim for monetary relief attributable to him or her by filing
notice of the election with the court within such time as specified in the notice given pursuant to this
subsection.

(2) The final judgment in an action under subsection (a) shall be res judicata as to any claim
under § 40-8.2-5 by aﬁy person on behalf of whom the action was brought and who fails to give notice
within the period specified in the notice given pursuant to this subsection.

(d) An action under subsection (a) shall not be dismissed or compromised without the approval
of the court, and notice of any proposed dismissal or compromise shall be given by publication at such
times, in such manner, and with such content as the court may direct.

(e) In any action under subsection (a):
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(1) The amount of the plaintiff's attorney's fees, if any, shall be determined by the court, and any
attorney's fees awarded to the attorney general shall be deposited with the state as general revenues; and

(2) The court may, in its discretion, award a reasonable attorney's fee to a prevailing defendant
upon a finding that the attorney general has acted in bad faith, vexatiously, wantonly, or for oppressive
reasons.

(f) Monetary relief recovered in an action under this section shall:

(1) Be distributed in such manner as the court, in its discretion, may authorize; or

(2) Be deemed a civil penalty by the court and deposited with the state as general revenues;
subject in either case to the requirement that any distribution procedure adopted afford each person a
reasonable opportunity to secure his or her appropriate portion of the net monetary relief.

(g) In any action under this section the fact that a person or public body has not dealt directly
with the defendant shall not bar or otherwise limit recovery. Prqvided, however, that the court shall
exclude from the amount of monetary relief which duplicates amounts which have been awarded for the
same injury.

§ 40-8.2-10. Other civil remedies and criminal penalties.- The penalties and remedies under

this statute are not exclusive and shall not preclude the use of any other civil remedy or the application of

any other criminal penalty deemed appropriate by the attorney general in accordance with federal law or

regulations governing Title XTX or Title XXI or the general or public laws of this state.

§ 40-8.2-11. Barring or suspending participation in program.- Whenever a provider is

sentenced or placed on probation for an offense under this chapter, the trial judge may, in his or her
discretion, order that the provider be permanently barred from further participation in the program, that
the provider's participation in the program be suspended for a definite period of time not exceeding two
(2) years, or that the provider conform to applicable federal regulations. For the purposes of this section,

the-Rhode Island Medieaid-program office of program integrity may submit a recommendation to the trial

judge as to whether the provider should be suspended or barred from the Medicaid program. Nothing
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contained herein shall be construed to prevent the RhedeIstand-Medieaid-pregram executive office of

health and human services from imposing its own administrative sanctions.

§ 40-8.2-17. Stays and review of revocation orders.- An order of the Rhode Island Medicaid

program executive office of health and human services revoking a provider's certification may, in the

discretion of the program, go into immediate effect or may be stayed. Review of any order may be had in
accordance with the Rhode Island administrative procedures law, §§ 42-35-1 -42-35-18. If an
administrative hearing is claimed, the program may, in its discretion, stay the effect of a revocation until a
hearing is had held and a decision is rendered, and for a period not to exceed ten (10) days after the

administrative decision is rendered.

§ 40-8.2-18. Filing and enforcement of administrative decision.- An administrative decision,

~not appealed, or which has been affirmed after judicial review under the Rhode Island administrative

procedures law, §§ 42-35-1 - 42-35-18, determining any amounts due to the RhodeIsland Medicaid
program executive office of health and human services or to a provider, may be filed with the clerk of the
superior court for Providence County and shall be enforceable as a judgment of that court.

§ 40-8.2-19. Certification as a provider - Revocation or suspension of certification.- Before

any provider of medical services receives payment from the Rhode Island Medicaid program, and as a

condition of receipt of payment, the provider must have in effect a valid certification of eligibility from

the Rhode Island department-of human-services executive office of health and human services. This

certification of eligibility will take the form of either a separate provider agreement or language as
required by federal regulations imprintedb on the medical assistance billing form, which must be signed by
the provider. This certification may be revoked or suspended, in accordance with administrative rules to
be promulgated by the department executive office, if a provider fails to meet professional licensure

requirements, violates any administrative regulations of the RhodeIsland Medicaid-program executive

office of health and human services, does not provide proper professional services, is the subject of a

suspension of payments order, is convicted of Medicaid fraud, or otherwise violates any provision of this

chapter.
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§ 40-8.2-21. Suspension of payments to a provider.- (a) The Rhode-Island-Medicaid-program

executive office of health and human services may issue a suspension of payments order if:

(1) The provider does not meet certification requirements of the Rhode Island Medicaid program;
or
(2) The Rhode Island Medicaid program has been unable to collect (or make satisfactory

arrangements for the collection of ) amounts due on account of overpayments to any provider; or

(3) The RhodeIsland Medicaid-program office of program integrity and/or the Medicaid fraud

control unit of the attorney general's office has been unable to obtain, from a provider, the data and

information necessary to enable it to determine the existence or amount (if any) of the overpayments
made to a provider; or

(4) The office of program integrity or the Medicaid fund control unit of the attorney general's

office has been denied reasonable access to information by a provider which pertains to a patient or
resident of a long term residential care facility or to a former patient or resident of a long term residential

care facility; or

(5) The RhodeIsland-Medicaid-program office of program integrity and/or the Medicaid fraud

control unit of the attorney general's office has been denied reasonable access to data and information by

the provider for the purpose of conducting activities as described in § 1903(g) of the Social Security Act,
42 U.S.C. § 1396b(g); or

(6) The Rhode-IslandMedieaidprogram office of program integrity has been presented with

reliable evidence that the provider has engaged in fraud or willful misrepresentation under the Medicaid

program.

(b) Any such order of the RhodeIsland-Medieaid-program executive office of health and human

services may cease to be effective at such time as the program office of program integrity is satisfied that

the provider is participating in substantial negotiations which seek to remedy the conditions which gave

rise to its order of suspension of payments, or that amounts are no longer due from the provider or that a
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satisfactory arrangement has been made for the payment of the provider or that a satisfactory arrangement
has been made for the payment by the provider of any such amounts.

§ 40-8.2-22. Interest on overcharges.-Any provider of services or goods contracting with the

department-of-human—services_executive office of health and human services pursuant to Title XIX or

Title XXI of the Social Security Act542-U-S.€-§-1396-etseq:, who, without intent to defraud, obtains
payments under this chapter in excess of the amount to which the provider is entitled, thereby becomes
liable for payment of the amount of the excess with payment of interest allowable by law, under § 6-26-
2, as was in effect on the date payment was made to the provider. The interest period will commence on
the date upon which payment was made and will extend to the date upon which repayment is made to the
state of Rhode Island.

SECTION 9. Sections 40-8.3-2 and 40-8.3-3 of the General Laws in Chapter 40-8.3 entitled
“Uncompensated Care” are hereby amended to read as follows:

§ 40-8.3-2 Definitions. — As used in this chapter:

(1) "Base year" means for the purpose of calculating a disproportionate share payment for any
fiscal year ending after September 30, 2643 2014, the period from October 1, 2643 2012 through
September 30, 2642 2013, and for any fiscal year ending after September 30, 2644 2015, the period from
October 1, 2042 2013 through September 30, 2843 2014.

(2) "Medieal-assistanece_Medicaid inpatient utilization rate for a hospital" means a fraction
(expressed as a percentage) the numerator of which is the hospital's number of inpatient days during the
base year attributable to patients who were eligible for medical assistance during the base year and the
denominator of which is the total number of the hospital's inpatient days in the base year.

(3) "Participating hospital” means any nongovernment and nonpsychiatric hospital that: (i) was

licensed as a hospital in accordance with chapter 17 of title 23 during the base year; and shall mean the

actual facilities and buildings in existence in Rhode Island, licensed pursuant to § 23-17-1 et seq. on June

30, 2010, and thereafter any premises included on that license, regardless of changes in licensure status

pursuant to § 23-17.14 (hospital conversions) and  §23-17-6 (b) (change in effective control).
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that provides short-term acute inpatient and/or outpatient care to persons who require definitive diagnosis

and treatment for injury, illness, disabilities. or pregnancy.

(ii) achieved a medical assistance inpatient utilization rate of at least one percent (1%) during the
base year; and

(iii) continues to be licensed as a hospital in accordance with chapter 17 of title 23 during the
payment year.

(4) "Uncompensated care costs" means, as to any hospital, the sum of: (i) the cost incurred by
such hospital during the base year for inpatient or outpatient services attributable to charity care (free care
and bad debts) for which the patient has no health insurance or other third-party coverage less payments,
if any, received directly from such pgtients; and (ii) the cost incurred by such hospital during the base
year for inpatient or out-patient services attributable to Medicaid beneficiaries less any Medicaid

reimbursement received therefor; multiplied by the uncompensated care index.

(5) "Uncompensated care index" means the annual percentage increase for hospitals established

pursuant to § 27-19-14 for each year after the base year, up to and including the payment year, provided,
however, that the uncompensated care index for the payment year énding September 30, 2007 shall be
deemed to be five and thirty-eight hundredths percent (5.38%), and that the uncompensated care index for
the payment year ending September 30, 2008 shall be deemed to be five and forty-seven hundredths
percent (5.47%), and that the uncompensated care index for the payment year ending September 30, 2009
shall be deemed to be five and thirty—eight hundrédths percent (5.38%), and that the uncompensated care
index for the payment years ending September 30, 2010, September 30, 2011, September 30, 2012,

September 30, 2013, September 30, 2014 and, September 30, 2015, and September 30, 2016 shall be

deemed to be five and thirty hundredths percent (5.30%).
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€5 (a) For federal fiscal year 2014, commencing on October 1, 2013 and ending September 30,

2014, the executive office of health and human services shall submit to the Secretary of the U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services a state plan amendment to the Rhode Island Medicaid state
plan for disproportionate share hospital payments (DSH Plan) to provide:

(1) That the disproportionate share hospital payments to all participating hospitals, not to exceed
an aggregate limit of $136.8 million, shall be allocated by the executive office of health and human
services to the Pool A, Pool C and Pool D.components of the DSH Plan; and,

(2) That the Pool D allotment shall be distributed among the participating hospitals in direct
proportion to the individual participating hospital's uncompensated care costs for the base year, inflated
by the uncompensated care index to the total uncompensated care costs for the base year inflated by
uncompensated care index for all participating hospitals. The disproportionate share payments shall be
made on or before July 14, 2014 and are expressly conditioned upon approval on or before July 7, 2014
by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, or his or her authorized
representative, of all Medicaid state plan amendments necessary to secure for the state the benefit of

federal financial participation in federal fiscal year 2014 for the disproportionate share payments.
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e} (b) For federal fiscal year 2015, commencing on October 1, 2014 and ending September 30,
2015, the executive office of heélth and human services shall submit to the Secretary of the U.S.
Department of Health and Human Services a state plan amendment to the Rhode Island Medicaid state
plan for disproportionate share hospital payments (DSH Plan) to provide:

(1) That the disproportionate share hospital payments to all participating hospitals, not to exceed
an aggregate limit of $136.8 million, shall be allocated by the executive office of health and human
services to the Pool A, Pool C and Pool D components of the DSH Plan; and,

(2) That the Pool D allotment shall be distributed among the participating hospitals in direct
proportion to the individual participating hospital's uncompensated care costs for the base year, inflated
by the uncompensated care index to the total uncompensated care costs for the base year inflated by
uncompensated care index for all participating hospitals. The disproportionate share payments shall be
made on or before July 13, 2015 and are expressly conditioned upon approval on or before July 6, 2015
by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, or his or her authorized
representative, of all Medicaid state plan amendments necessary to secure for the state the benefit of

federal financial participation in federal fiscal year 2015 for the disproportionate share payments.

(c) For federal fiscal year 2016, commencing on October 1, 2015 and ending September 30, 2016,

the executive office of health and human services shall submit to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of

Health and Human Services a state plan amendment to the Rhode Island Medicaid -state plan_for

disproportionate share hospital payments (DSH Plan) to provide:

(1) That the disproportionate share hospital payments to all participating hospitals, not to exceed

an aggregate limit of $135.9 million, shall be allocated by the executive office of health and human

services to the Pool A, Pool C and Pool D components of the DSH Plan: and,

(2) That the Pool D allotment shall be distributed among the participating hospitals in direct

proportion to the individual participating hospital's uncompensated care costs for the base vear, inflated

by the uncompensated care index to the total uncompensated care costs for the base year inflated by

uncompensated care index for all participating hospitals. The disproportionate share payments shall be
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made on or before July 11, 2016 and are expressly conditioned